A Perfectionist Mum’s Family Project

My Family and Me at Tampa's Lowry Park Zoo

Today my family started our Family Project. I planned it last week, and together with my husband, sat down at breakfast and explained it all to the kids.  It goes like this:

We are a very lucky family. We are healthy, we have enough money, we have lovely friends and extended family, the kids go to a great school, we are all nice, ordinary people who don’t have any unusual or major problems in their life. 

So, with all that in mind, why is there so much shouting, resentment, anger, frustration, exhaustion, mess, lack of respect, abdicating of responsibility, rudeness, meaness, selfishness, ingratitude and unhappiness in our house?

We know that these things always happen in families, but we think there is too much of it, and not enough respect, responsibility, kindness, gratitude, honesty, mindfulness, calm, fun and happiness.

For the next year we are going to work as a family on one important value or skill  each month, introducing positive daily habits and creating a healthier and happier family culture.

Sounds exciting to me, and if it works it will be.  But I know it will take a lot of organising and planning, which I will have to do.   I am very scared that I’ll lose focus, or momentum, or motivation and it will become another of my ideas that I let slide…  That’s why I’m writing about it on my blog, so I have some accountability, and of course I hope that it will help and inspire some of you perfectionist (and not so perfectionist) parents out there too.

About theajolly

Thea is a recovering perfectionist, happiness expert and mum of three, who helps perfectionists, procrastinators, and other control freaks overcome their self-doubt and find inner confidence, calm and happiness.
This entry was posted in Change, Parenting, Relationships and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to A Perfectionist Mum’s Family Project

  1. I really like your idea of a family project. It encourages everyone to be part of the family happiness and take responsibility. I look forward to reading more about it.
    I also feel quite inspired to talk to my family about doing it too. I think sometimes we don’t realise how lcuky we are and take each other for granted. Thank you!

  2. Pingback: Could it be working already? | Perfectionist Mum

  3. Pingback: Family Values No. 2 – Respect | Perfectionist Mum

Leave a Reply

